Shopping Semi-healthy to stay Semi-wealthy and wise….

I haven’t posted on my grocery store savings in a while.  I’m not quite as nutty as some of those people you see on that TLC show, Extreme Couponers, but I must say I do my fair share of clipping, researching, and list making, to make sure I get the best bang for my buck. AS for the picture to the left, maybe I am a wee bit obsessed.  But I promise some out there are worse!

Yesterday was my first big savings in a while. I spent most of my summer focusing my savings within my garden. I was eating all the tomatoes, peppers, and cucumbers I could. I simply love knowing I’m saving money on fresh and healthy food, and it stinks that the one thing that is so hard to coupon for are items in the produce section. Nevertheless, there is still a way to save.  As I have mentioned in the past, I try to focus on savings when I shop, but not so much that I’m eating processed crap 24/7. There is a fine balance!

The items that are healthy and good for our bodies are typically found around the perimeter of the store.  If you want to shop as healthy as possible, stay away from the lanes! Next time you go to the store stay on the outside the WHOLE trip and only buy from there. I try to do this once a week to make sure I’m still buying things that are wholesome and nutritious. Think about it, in my store the main areas are Produce, Meat, Dairy, and Deli.  You will hardly find a coupon for zucchini, salmon, or a dozen eggs, but these types of food are good for us, and unprocessed for the most part. If it were easier for me I would go to a farmers market every week for these items, but I just can’t do it all!  SO how do I save?

1)  SALES!  I look for whats on sale. Many items in the produce department are seasonal and therefore will go on sale throughout different times of the year. Have you ever noticed how strawberries are sometimes $5 and then other times only $2? Instead of making a list for what I want, I grab what is marked down for the week.  This week I grabbed some bananas and cherry tomatoes. The first batch of tomatoes I bought in 4 months, <SIGH> bye bye gardening season.

2)Manager Mark Downs – My store marks items down as they near their expiration date. Some people might get a little freaked out by this, but if it’s not expired yet, it’s ok! I just know I either need to eat it ASAP, or throw it in the freezer. This week I snagged up a bag of salad (please note bright orange and yellow sticker on bag in picture below), more tomatoes, and some stuffed peppers made in the meat department.

3)Coupons. They do happen! Kroger will send me coupons every now and then. Inside I will find “Best Customer Coupons”! Once a month they will send me a FREE coupon for something in this “perimeter area” of the store amongst other coupons as well. Last month I got a coupon for a free dozen eggs!

So never fear! Savings is possible in a healthy way, it may just not be as great when you shop like this…

How do you say no to Toaster Strudels when they are only 5 cents a box?? Ahh, the childhood memories 🙂

The breakdown?

Total before coupons = $83

Total after coupons = $52

BONUS!

$10.75 received in Kroger Dollars for buying participating items!

I saved about  $40. That’s nearly 50% off! I’m always happy when I hit that 50% off mark 🙂 Now I’m going to have a toaster strudel for breakfast….and YES….  WITH the icing! Don’t judge me….. 😉 I’m off to reward myself!

One thought on “Shopping Semi-healthy to stay Semi-wealthy and wise….

Leave a comment